The Cooperation Network of the Towns on the Ruta de la Plata is a voluntary Association made up of towns and cities situated on the so-called "Silver Trail", identified in this respect with the N-630 Gijón-Seville National Road, founded to act jointly to defend and promote their touristic, historical, cultural and economic resources.

The Association is an entity with a full, public, legal personality and is open to the incorporation of new members.

The Network of Cooperating Towns on the Ruta de la Plata got underway in April 1997 when the Mayors of Gijón, León, Zamora, Salamanca, Cáceres and Seville signed its governing statutes. 

The Cooperation Network is currently formed by the corporations of 28 municipalities (see the list) and the Deputation of Cáceres.

  • Principado de Asturias
    • Gijón
    • Llanera
    • Ribera de Arriba
    • Morcín
    • Riosa
    • Mieres
    • Aller
    • Lena
  • Castilla y León
    • La Pola de Gordón
    • León
    • La Bañeza
    • Benavente
    • Zamora
    • Guijuelo
    • Béjar
  • Extremadura
    • Baños de Montemayor
    • Hervás
    • Plasencia
    • Casar de Cáceres
    • Mérida
    • Los Santos de Maimona
    • Zafra
    • Calzadilla de los Barros
    • Fuente de Cantos
    • Montemolín
  • Andalucía
    • Sevilla
    • Carmona

The Ruta traverses 4 regions and 7 provinces on a North-South axis of about 800 km and more than 120,000 sq. kms. and has strong links with neighbouring Portugal.

Since its beginnings, the Network has carried out important actions related to training, promotion and marketing in the field of tourism, all of which have raised local awareness about the potential of this area. It has also been decisive in popularising the incomparable though not yet sufficiently well known touristic resources along this route among both the Spanish and European public.

The Ruta de la Plata is based along an old communication axis of the West of Spain. Nowadays, it constitutes a rich and varied itinerary possessing several World Heritage Sites and represents a top-level cultural and touristic potential in both the Iberian Peninsula as well as the European Union.


THE OBSERVER. July 24th, 2010 Download here